Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting I could use some help with making a script Post 302841577 by jpontius on Wednesday 7th of August 2013 03:50:06 PM
Old 08-07-2013
Thanks for this. Can I ask how do I tell awk what files to process. I think its something in here
Code:
{S[$1]=$2; P[$1]=$3; next}

are those variable's that I assign to my perl.csv and account.csv?

---------- Post updated at 03:14 PM ---------- Previous update was at 02:27 PM ----------

Nevermind, I guess I put them in here
Code:
file2 FS=" " file1

---------- Post updated at 03:50 PM ---------- Previous update was at 03:14 PM ----------

Thanks! It works great! Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Making a script exectuable

Hi, I'm pretty new to Unix and I just have a question concerning making a script executable without putting the "sh" command before it. In case it makes the difference I am on an Apple computer using the Terminal. Anyway here is the little test code I wrote followed by the commands I took to try to... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: BuyoCat
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Making flags for my script

I have no idea how to make my own flags. (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: rcunn87
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help making a script

Here is what I have: #!/bin/bash # Setup year date and month YR=`date +%Y '{print $6}'` MON=`date +%b '{print $2}'` DAY=`date +%d '{print $3}'` file=$YR$MOY$DOM # clear # Dump database using USER/PASS to ..sql mysqldump --user=me -ppass database > database-db.$file.sql The YR, MON and... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: npereira
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

making script