Sponsored Content
The Lounge War Stories Prize of being an Admin - Part 2 Post 302816397 by os2mac on Monday 3rd of June 2013 07:42:24 PM
Old 06-03-2013
oh, They can... just not in proper base 10. They usually start with 1 versus 0.

Smilie

6 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

comparing part of header with part of detailed records.

Hi there, I am lil confused with the following issue. I have a File, which has the following header: IMSHRATE_043008_101016 a sample detailed record is :9820101 A982005000CAVG030108000000000000010169000MAR 2008 9820102 MAR 2008 D030108 ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: cmaroju
1 Replies

2. What is on Your Mind?

Windows Admin switching to *nix Admin

I'm currently a Windows admin and have wanted to jump ship to the *nix side for a while now. I've been studying both through an lpic level 1 manual as I have time (focusing on debian), and a solaris 10 cert book. The problem is I only have a handful of hours a week to study, and my current job... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: bobwilson
3 Replies

3. War Stories

Prize of being an Admin

Was wondering if anyone has come across any situation where you do your best to help users and in return you get a nice escalation from top level management! Here's my story: One fine morning, I was sitting idle, doing next to nothing, I got an alert from helpdesk people about a problem with... (30 Replies)
Discussion started by: admin_xor
30 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

[Solved] Printing a part of the last line of the specific part of a file

Hi, I have 80 large files, from which I want to get a specific value to run a Bash script. Firstly, I want to get the part of a file which contains this: Name =A xxxxxx yyyyyy zzzzzz aaaaaa bbbbbb Value = 57 This is necessary because in a file there are written more lines which... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: wenclu
6 Replies

5. What is on Your Mind?