Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Converting from Linux bash (GNU) to Solaris script syntax errors Post 302801235 by hanson44 on Wednesday 1st of May 2013 03:22:08 PM
Old 05-01-2013
Quote:
cat $Full_file |sed "/$StaticIP/d" > tmpfile

Instead:

Code:
sed "/$StaticIP/d" $Full_file > tmpfile

^^^ doesn't work, i tried that first
Well, there must have been a typo when you tried it, or some other error. The cat $Full_file | is not needed, period.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Converting bash script to csh

Hi, I'm a beginner in scripting and I recently wrote a bash script that would've worked fine until I realized it needed to be written in csh. Could someone please show me how to correctly change the syntax from bash to csh in this script? Any help will be greatly appreciated. I can provide more... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Kweekwom
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Subtracting time with awk - BASH/Debian GNU Linux

I'm sure this is simple and I've been looking at examples for days on end but can't seem to come to grips with awk. What I have: mplayer -v dvd:// -identify -vo null -ao null -nolirc -nojoystick -frames 0 2>/dev/null >> /tmp/MplayerOut ChapterStart=($(grep CHAPTERS: /tmp/MplayerOut |sed... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: rickenbacherus
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

linux bash script to sun solaris

Hi guys, I seek a solution for this action for Sun solaris. find /sapmnt/${up}/global -prune -printf "%m %M %u %g %p\n" > $DAT1 The Application/Utilities in Sun Solaris are to old and cant understand "-printf". An update for Application/Utilities is exist, but not possible to implement... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: ixibits
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Solaris bash syntax different from Linux?