Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Question about UNIX file rights Post 302799865 by mike_bn on Sunday 28th of April 2013 05:18:19 AM
Old 04-28-2013
Wow, thanks for the fast reply.
Can you give one short example for the differences when running the program?
(Execpt for that Unix remembers the current directory from where the programm was called, i can't think of any differences, but as i mentioned, i am a beginner)
Thanks!
mike_bn

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

File Oput question in Unix?

Just curious in Unix BSD lpr customer would result in the printing of the file customers to a printer but I also came across this command pr| customer| lpr which suppose to prepare the file by formatting before printing. My question is what type of formatting is done to the file for example what... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: wmosley2
1 Replies

2. SuSE

UNIX - Linux NFS Rights need Help

Hello, I am running a Suse Linux server and I want to set up a NFS Server for a few Unix machines. For the root account at the unix client it works fine but it doesn't work for other users who have no root rights. I've used the no_root_squash and the rw option in the etc/export file. My folder... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: Ald-Edv
7 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unix access rights

Hi, Is it true that if I am not the root I can not select access permissions to a file that I own so that my friend (who also isn't the root) can access that file? And is it true that the only way to accomplish it is to ask the root to "put" my friend into "my" group? Then I could simply set... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rudo
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

file access rights?