Sponsored Content
Special Forums Hardware Filesystems, Disks and Memory New disc drive - access problem Post 302781365 by keith.macdonald on Saturday 16th of March 2013 09:42:00 AM
Old 03-16-2013
New disc drive - access problem

Hi

I've added a second hard drive to my computer. I had no problem using GParted to partition and format it as an ext4 partition, and it's visible as an extra device. But when I try to read from the drive, I get "Folder contents could not be displayed, You do not have permission". When I right-click on the device properties, I can see the owner is root, not my username. How do I give myself permission to access the drive?

Thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. HP-UX

how to access a windows shared drive from HPUX?

Dear Unix Gurus, I am very very new to UNIX. Apreciate your advice/guidence on the following. I have a HPUX machine and i want to copy some files from this machines to a windows shared drive. I am not sure how to go about it. To my little knowledge i think it is not straight... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: nicky88
5 Replies

2. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

MO disc stuck in drive, Help!

Im a newbie at unix and need some help with my MO disc, which is stuck in the MO drive. I cant get it out. I have tried several commands but nothing works, so if there is some fullproof way to get it out i would be thankful if someone could tell me! /O (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Olink
1 Replies

3. AIX

Problem with a SSA drive

I've a problem with an IBM StorageWorks - Seagate SSA drive, model ST373453LC (IBM P/N 24P3733, Type S53D073, 72,8 GB 15K - USCSI 4 - 320 SSA). I bought this disk used but working; it came from an unknown IBM SSA storage array. I've removed the SCA - SSA adapter (IBM 18P3051 - 001 - R0) and i tried... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: Linolinux
0 Replies

4. HP-UX

tape drive access/backup