Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Sort and vectors on awk
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Sort and vectors on awk Post 302771496 by jim mcnamara on Wednesday 20th of February 2013 10:12:59 PM
Old 02-20-2013
It helps if you tell us what Linux /UNIX you are using. Some awk implementations have asort() which is array sort. Other do not - so the correct answer for you depends on the system you are on.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help, awk sed sort

Hi,everyone: I'm new to shell, and now get trouble with some script: line=`/usr/xpg4/bin/awk '/^(*\|){2}'"$CR"'/ {print $0}' ${TIER4FILE}|grep -v OSNAME=`sed -n ''$LINE'p' $DATALOC/os` sort +1 /tmp/LhasaCRs2 > /tmp/LhasaCRs1 I cannot understand the "{2}" here. My mentor said it... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mycoy
1 Replies

2. Homework & Coursework Questions

awk sort help

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data: I dont know what I do wrong, I am trying to create shell programming database: I have this command first: && > $fname ... echo $Name:$Surname:$Agency:$Tel:$Ref: >> $fname then I have echo " Name Surname Agency Tel... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jeht
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sort in AWK

Hi, I usually use Access to sort data however for some reason its not working. Our systems guys and myself cannot figure it out so ive tried to use AWK to do the sorting. The file is made up of single lines in the format ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: eknryan
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sort and count using AWK

Hi, I've a fixed width file where I need to count the number of patterns from each line between characters 1 to 15 . so can we sort them and get a count for each pattern on the file between 1 to 15 characters. 65795648617522383763831552 410828003265795648 6175223837... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: rudoraj
5 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting