Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Creating conditional symlink
Operating Systems Linux Ubuntu Creating conditional symlink Post 302739005 by Corona688 on Monday 3rd of December 2012 10:14:42 AM
Old 12-03-2012
A symlink points to a file. It can't do anything else.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

creating a script using the case conditional

hello, i am a newbie who is just starting to use liunx, and I need to accept a string from the terminal and use case to echo a suitable message if the string doesn't have at least 10 characters. Also, how would I do the same thing using expr? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: soccerstr1
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

creating conditional logs

Hi all, I am new to scripting and hope to get help in this forum...we use autosys ... the jil files call shell scripts (korn shell) for automated processes and create logs everytime they are run...the process runs every 5 mins which is creating huge logs...i need to know if logs be created... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: sonali007
0 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

creating symlink

hi... I have a folder<abc> under /root folder. I want to create a symlink such that when i click on folder<abc> under root, should display my home folder (home/krish). Immediate inputs appreciated..... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rama.honge
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed -i destroy symlink - how to solve this ?

After a few hours of frustration because I didn't understand why my symlinks are destroyed i just found out that sed -i will destroy symlinks. I searched but i didn't found any good solution for this. Is there any way to overcome this ? On my ubuntu server sed version is 4.1.5 edit: Sorry... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: ktm
0 Replies

5. Solaris

symlink on link file