Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting awk loop and using shell in awk Post 302717275 by xshang on Thursday 18th of October 2012 12:03:53 AM
Old 10-18-2012
awk loop and using shell in awk

Hi, everyone!

I have a file, when I print its $1 out it show several strings like this:

Code:
AABBCC
AEFJKLFG
FALEF
FAIWEHF

What I want to do is that, after output of each record, search the string in all files in the same folder, print out the record and file name.

This is what I want to get.

HTML Code:
AABBCC  232  546   file1
AABBCC  432  653   file2
AABBCC  432  653   file3
AEFJKLFG  45   45   file1
AEFJKLFG  34   2     file3

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Passing a variable to awk while in a shell for loop

I am a newbie to awk and c programming, however am not a unix newbie. However, I do need help with a kshell script I am writing. It is almost complete, the last step is killing me. Any help would be greatly appreciated. What I am trying to do is cat a text file that has usernames. Then, using... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: synergy_texas
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script / Grep / Awk to variable and Loop

Hi, I have a text file with data in that I wish to extract, assign to a variable and process through a loop. Kind of the process that I am after: 1: Grep the text file for the values. Currently using: cat /root/test.txt | grep TESTING= | awk -F"=" '{ a = $2 } {print a}' | sort -u ... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: Spoonless
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Comparison and editing of files using awk.(And also a possible bug in awk for loop?)

I have two files which I would like to compare and then manipulate in a way. File1: pictures.txt 1.1 1.3 dance.txt 1.2 1.4 treehouse.txt 1.3 1.5 File2: pictures.txt 1.5 ref2313 1.4 ref2345 1.3 ref5432 1.2 ref4244 dance.txt 1.6 ref2342 1.5 ref2352 1.4 ref0695 1.3 ref5738 1.2... (1 Reply)