Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting awk: too many output files created from while loop Post 302712169 by dodgerfan78 on Monday 8th of October 2012 10:10:39 PM
Old 10-08-2012
That works! thank you agama! Smilie I am just learning awk, so I will keep that "next" command in mind next time.

P.S. and thanks for the clarification, that is what i was suspecting but didn't understand how it worked

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

total output from a file created in a while loop

I have a while loop which looks for files and then sets a variable to give me the record count of each file: current_members=`wc -l ${DATA_DIR}/$MEMBERS_FILENAME | nawk '{ printf "%d\n", $0}'` I am out putting the totals into a file: echo $current_members >> ../data/out_total_members.dat ... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: Pablo_beezo
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using variables created sequentially in a loop while still inside of the loop [bash]

I'm trying to understand if it's possible to create a set of variables that are numbered based on another variable (using eval) in a loop, and then call on it before the loop ends. As an example I've written a script called question (The fist command is to show what is the contents of the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: DeCoTwc
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Trouble with a file path as awk output in for loop

When I run the following command in the shell it works fine. It prints a city name and then a path for a file. ~$ for i in `awk -F':' '{print $0}' /home/knoppix/Desktop/data/subs | grep -m 1 $ city | sed "s/:/ /"` >do >echo $i >done Now, when I place it in this shell script (sh) it prints... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: afroCluster
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

for loop returns more output with awk