Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting SH script, variable built command fails, but works at command line Post 302700991 by oly_r on Friday 14th of September 2012 01:59:47 PM
Old 09-14-2012
rdrtx1:
Uhm, it looks like you just changed which set of quotes were passed to the shell, i don't see anything else. Didn't make any difference though.

Corona688:
Wouldn't the ${CFLAGS} just be a different variable NAME, or is ${CFLAGS} actually handled differently.

Last edited by oly_r; 09-14-2012 at 03:09 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

script works on command line, not in cron job

Hey there, I'm a total newbie unix guy here and just picking this stuff up. Have a very small script I put together that works fine from the command line but not once I put it in a cron job. Searched and found this thread and am wondering it it has something to do with setting variables, though the... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: JackTheTripper
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Cron job fails, but works fine from command line

I have a very basic script that essentially sends a log file, via FTP, to a backup server. My cron entry to run this every night is: 55 23 * * * /usr/bin/archive_logs The script runs perfectly when executed manually, and actually worked via cron for about three weeks. However, it mysteriously... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: cdunavent
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Zgrep works at command line but not in script?

Hi all- I'm trying to search through some .gz log files to verify certain feeds have passed through our app. I have a small script that I wrote in hopes that I could automate the checking but haven't been able to get the zgrep to work. When I copy it to the command line directly it works... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Cailet
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

This code works in the command line but not in a shl script