Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Finding data in large no. of files Post 302668835 by cooker97 on Tuesday 10th of July 2012 03:41:19 AM
Old 07-10-2012
thx for the pointers clx.
Will keep 'em in mind next time.
I am a complete noob to linux, but I need this script for a project I'm working on.

The sample o/p should be smthing like this :

The script should simply create new sub-directories and copy those files there, any one row of which satisfy the criteria I mentioned. (i.e, no. of rows satisfying criteria >=1).

Also, it should give me VALUE D of those row(s) in the copied files which have satisfied the criteria.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

finding duplicate files by size and finding pattern matching and its count

Hi, I have a challenging task,in which i have to find the duplicate files by its name and size,then i need to take anyone of the file.Then i need to open the file and find for more than one pattern and count of that pattern. Note:These are the samples of two files,but i can have more... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jerome Sukumar
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extracting data from large logs.

Hi all, I have a large log file that gets created daily. I need to be able to pull text out of the log when I hit a pattern including the 7 lines above it and the 3 lines below and output it to a new text file. Line 1 Line 2 Line 3 Line 4 Line 5 Line 6 Line 7 Pattern Line 9 Line 10... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: bas
11 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Quick question about finding a large file

what is the correct command for finding the largest file and displaying it without any error information? I can find it, but how do I display it in the same command? (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: raidkridley
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

finding and removing patterns in a large list of urls