Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Script to change file name
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Script to change file name Post 302654775 by millsy5 on Tuesday 12th of June 2012 09:05:44 AM
Old 06-12-2012
Hi Rangarasan, thanks for your reply. However it is not working for me. I'm new to Unix programming so maybe it is something simple I have not spotted. I ran the following code:

Code:
#! /bin/csh

base=$1

if [ -f ${base} ]
then
   cp ${base} ${base././_fails.}
else
   echo "${base} file not found"
fi

I get the following output

Code:
$ change_filename test1.txt
base=test1.txt: Command not found
base: Undefined variable

The file test1.txt is definitely in the current directory

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

script to change value in file

Hi, I have a parameter file and it contains following items $ cat TransactionParams From_Date_Parm=2005-02-25 To_Date_Parm=2005-05-25 Extract_Root_Parm=/detld1/etl/ascential/Ascential/DataStage/Projects/CTI_London/IAM Extract_Type_Parm=Transaction EDW_Database_Parm=hdw_erks... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: gopskrish
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

script to ftp file (ip change)

Hi All, If I want to ftp files from machine to local pc. But the ip must change everytime :( (due to VPN), can I write a script to easiler (no need to update ip in script)? user_name=aaa password=bbb cat ip.txt # # FTP the files # ftp -d -in 199.200.204.109 <<EOF user $user_name... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: happyv
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help script to change the log file?

Hi I have log like this : And i want the log become like this : can somebody help me?? (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: justbow
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with shell script for know when a file change it