Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Replace first 3 occurances of a character in a file for each line Post 302654285 by rsreejithmenon on Monday 11th of June 2012 01:19:40 PM
Old 06-11-2012
Replace first 3 occurances of a character in a file for each line

Hi all,

I am very new to unix - ksh. I want to replace some characters in a file with some other, but only for first three occurances for each line.
For eg:
the first 3 occurances character ']' has to be replaced with ',' in each line.

Please help.

thanks
Sreejith

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How would I replace the 9th character of every line in a file?

Is there a simple way to replace the 9th character of every line in a text file? Right now it is a space and instead I want to stick in a 0, every line is the same. Is there a quick way to do this in Unix? (Solaris) (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: LordJezo
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace all occurances of a string in all file-/foldernames, recursively

I need a script that will replace all occurances of a string in all filenames and foldernames, recursively. Right now I have this script: for f in `find -name *eye*`; do echo processing $f g=`expr "xxx$f" : 'xxx\(.*\)' | tr 'eye' 'm'` mv "$f" "$g" done The problem is that tr... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: TheMJ
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Count occurances of a character in a file

I want to find the number of occurences of a character in a file. How do i do it. Eg: $cat file1.txt Welcome to World of Unix. $ If i want to find the occurences of 'o' then I should be getting 3. Thanks. (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: Shivdatta
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Merging lines based on occurances of a particular character in a file