Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Averaging each row with null values Post 302611063 by ida1215 on Thursday 22nd of March 2012 07:03:14 AM
Old 03-22-2012
Averaging each row with null values

Hi all,

I want to compute for the average of a file with null values (NaN) for each row. any help on how to do it. the sample file looks like this.
Code:
1.4 1.2 1.5 NaN 1.6
1.3 1.1 NaN 1.3 NaN
2.4 1.3 1.5 NaN 1.5 
NaN 1.2 NaN 1.4 NaN

I need to do a row-wise averaging such that it will sum only all the valid values/ divided by the number of valid values. Null values are interspersed within rows and I want to disregard these values when computing for the average like the ones below:

Code:
(1.4+1.2+1.5+1.6)/4
(1.3+1.1+1.3)/3
(2.4+1.3+1.5+1.5)/4
(1.2+1.4)/2

Thank you very much in advance for any help and insight on this.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

averaging column values with awk

Hello. Im just starting to learn awk so hang in there with me...I have a large text file formatted as such everything is in a single column ID001 value 1 value 2 value....n ID002 value 1 value 2 value... n I want to be able to calculate the average for values for each ID from the... (18 Replies)
Discussion started by: johnmillsbro
18 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to insert data befor some field in a row of data depending up on values in row

Hi I need to do some thing like "find and insert before that " in a file which contains many records. This will be clear with the following example. The original data record should be some thing like this 60119827 RTMS_LOCATION_CDR INSTANT_POSITION_QUERY 1236574686123083rtmssrv7 ... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: aemunathan
8 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

How to Compare Null values??