Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Count occurrences in awk
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Count occurrences in awk Post 302607077 by ikke008 on Tuesday 13th of March 2012 01:35:53 PM
Old 03-13-2012
Because it'spart of a bigger awk script, and I need it in arrays.
I also want a nice output file.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

count occurrences and substitute with counter

Hi Unix-Experts, I have a textfile with several occurrences of some string XXX. I'd like to count all the occurrences and number them in reverse order. E.g. input: XXX bla XXX foo XXX output: 3 bla 2 foo 1 I tried to achieve this with sed, but failed. Any suggestions? Thanks in... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ptob
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Count the number of occurrences of the word

I am a newbie in UNIX shell script and seeking help on this UNIX function. Please give me a hand. Thanks. I have a large file. Named as 'MyFile'. It was tab-delmited. I am told to write a shell function that counts the number of occurrences of the ord “mysring” in the file 'MyFile'. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: duke0001
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with Unix and Awk to count number of occurrences

Hi, I have a file (movies.sh), this file contains list of movies such as I want to redirect the movies from movies.sh to file_to_process to allow me process the file with out losing anything. I have tried Movies.sh >> file_to_process But I want to add the row number to the data... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: INHF
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script to count word occurrences, but exclude some?