Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting need a shell script to extract the files from source file and check whether those files existonserve Post 302600456 by muraliinfy04 on Tuesday 21st of February 2012 07:43:00 AM
Old 02-21-2012
need a shell script to extract the files from source file and check whether those files existonserve

Hi,
I am new to shell scripting.Please help me on this.I am using solaris 10 OS and shell i am using is
Code:
# echo $0
-sh

My requirement is i have source file say makefile.I need to extract files with extensions (.c |.cxx |.h |.hxx |.sc) from the makefile.after doing so i need to check whether those files exist on the solaris server and if so what is the location they are present.could somebody help on this?

---------- Post updated at 07:43 AM ---------- Previous update was at 06:53 AM ----------

i have used folllowin command to extract files from the source file.
Code:
egrep '(.c |.cxx |.h |.hxx |.sc )' makefile | grep -v '#'>srclst

i am able to direct the out put to srclst file.Now searching command to find the file from teh srclist file and need to check where that file is located on the server

Last edited by Franklin52; 02-22-2012 at 06:00 AM.. Reason: Please use code tags for code and data samples, thank you

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script to transfer the files from source to target server.

I need to write a shell script to transfer the files every hour from source - target server. The cron job should be running every hour and shouldn't copy already copied files to the remote server ? I was able to write intial script but not able to get the logic for (in the next run it should... (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: radhirk
12 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

HOW TO CHECK ONLY .C FILES EXISTS OR NOT IN A FOLDER using IF in C shell script?