Sponsored Content
Top Forums Programming Learning OS design, Linux Vs. Minix??? Post 302598427 by jlliagre on Tuesday 14th of February 2012 11:37:53 AM
Old 02-14-2012
While certainly a confidential Unix variant, Minix is neither obsolete (last versions were released in October 2010) nor 16 bit (it can be compiled in 16 or 32 bit).

Quoting Andy Tanenbaum:
Please be aware that MINIX 3 is not your grandfather's MINIX ... MINIX 1 was written as an educational tool ... MINIX 3 is that plus a start at building a highly reliable, self-healing, bloat-free operating system ... MINIX 1 and MINIX 3 are related in the same way as Windows 3.1 and Windows XP are: same first name.

Last edited by jlliagre; 02-14-2012 at 05:34 PM.. Reason: typo

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Learning Unix & Linux

I'm new to Unix. I'm just looking for really good unix documents through Internet as pdf format on programming in all shells, and system adminstrator documents, and well as just all around really good documents on unix. Thank you (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: faaarin
5 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Learning Unix/Linux from the Start?

I was wondering if someone could tell me where I could learn everything about Unix/Linux and I was also wondering what the differance between Unix and Linux was :confused: Ive never used it, never seen it.. But Im interested in learning :D (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Vallzi
3 Replies

3. Solaris

AIX, Solaris, Linux Test Environment Design Question

AIX, Solaris, Linux Test Environment Design Question We want to set an AIX, Solaris & Linux test environment. Here are the hardware equipments: (1) A Sunfire v100 (or v120), 1GB memory, two 36GB HDD. (2) An IBM pSeries 7026, 1 GB memory, 4 9GB HDD. (3) Five external HDD with SCSI... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: aixlover
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users