Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting sed append without using new line Post 302596235 by kalpeer on Tuesday 7th of February 2012 02:01:14 AM
Old 02-07-2012
try this

Code:
touch /tmp/test.$$
while read line
do
check=`echo $line | tr -dc [A-Z]`
if [ ! -z "$check" ];then
echo "$line" | sed 's/$/]Foo/' >> /tmp/test.$$
else
 echo "$line" >> /tmp/test.$$
fi
done < one
cat /tmp/test.$$

one:
TITLE
this is a line
this is a line

Output:

TITLE]Foo
this is a line
this is a line

Last edited by Franklin52; 02-07-2012 at 03:58 AM.. Reason: Code tags
This User Gave Thanks to kalpeer For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using SED to append character to each line

Hey - my first post here, and I'm a total SED newb. I've looked around for previous help on this, but have so far been unsuccessful. I have a program (AMStracker for OS X) that outputs data in the terminal. Output is in this form: . . . 3 0 -75 3 0 -76 3 0 -77 ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: c0nn0r
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

using sed to append text to the end of each line

Anyone know how to use SED to append a comma to the end of each line example: field1,field2,field3,field4 If i Cat /textfile ---- How can i append the end of /textfile with a comman? (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: Redg
8 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sed : identify a pattern and append a word at the end of a line

Hello to all, On aix, I want to identify a term on a line in a file and then add a word at the end of the line identified. I do not want the word to be added when the line contains the symbol "#". I use the following command, but it deletes the term identified then adds the word. #sed... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: dantares
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

sed - append text to every line