Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Line processing
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Line processing Post 302594168 by pvamsikr on Monday 30th of January 2012 05:12:25 PM
Old 01-30-2012
Try this:

Code:
awk '{temp = $4; $4 = $16; $16 = temp} {print $0}' file

This User Gave Thanks to pvamsikr For This Post:

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

processing line in file

Hi I amtrying to read the lines from a file, these lines are absolute paths in the system. I want to check if these paths exists, if they doesn't I want to create that path and put a file in that location/path. I had no trouble filtering these paths out using awk, grep, uniq etc but when it... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: fablef00
8 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

AWK Multi-Line Records Processing

I am an Awk newbie and cannot wrap my brain around my problem: Given multi-line records of varying lengths separated by a blank line I need to skip the first two lines of every record and extract every-other line in each record unless the first line of the record has the word "(CONT)" in the... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: RacerX
10 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

File processing line by line

Hi, I am doing file processing line by line. while reading each line at a specified location I am searching for a particular character and then write that line to another file. Problem is while writing to another file it was supressing the spaces, which I don't want to do. Any help is... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: suma
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Reading a file line by line and processing for each line