Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Compare one files with strings from another + remove lines Post 302582951 by sdf on Monday 19th of December 2011 06:27:07 AM
Old 12-19-2011
Compare one files with strings from another + remove lines

Have two files and want to compare the content of file1 with file2. When matched remove the line.
Code:
awk 'NR==FNR {b[$0]; next} !(b in $0)' file1 file2

file1
HTML Code:
1. if match
2. remove
file2
HTML Code:
1. this line has to be removed if match
2. this line has a match, remove
3. this line has no match, no removing
The code does not remove the matches.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Compare and Remove duplicate lines from txt

Hello, I am a total linux newbie and I can't seem to find a solution to this little problem. I have two text files with a huge list of URLS. Let's call them file1.txt and file2.txt What I want to do is grab an URL from file2.txt, search file1.txt for the URL and if found, delete it from... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: rmarcano
11 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Remove matching lines with list of strings

Hi, HP-UX gxxxxxxxc B.11.23 U ia64 3717505098 unlimited-user license I have a file with below pipe separated field values: xxx|xxx|abcd|xxx|xxx|xx xxx|xxx|abcd#123|xxx|xxx|xx xxx|xxx|abcd#345|xxx|xxx|xx xxx|xxx|pqrs|xxx|xxx|xx xxx|xxx|pqrs#123|xxx|xxx|xx The third field has values like... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: Nanu_Manju
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Compare two files and remove all the contents of one file from another

Hi, I have two files, in which the second file has exactly the same contents of the first file with some additional records. Now, if I want to remove those matching lines from file2 and print only the extra contents which the first file does not have, I could use the below unsophisticated... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: royalibrahim
3 Replies