Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting PERL or SHELL Scrript to search in Directories by taking line by line from a text file Post 302582582 by pasam on Friday 16th of December 2011 11:38:12 AM
Old 12-16-2011
MySQL

Thanks Ludwig,
Actually I am new to this shell script and PERL and I want the file content which have to print line by line and reference file (.jsp, .js,.xsl )
For Example:
if in the input text file app.txt ,4 names are there like below
Code:
                      pasam
                      nithin 
                      anil 
                      eric

then I want the output file containing the content like

Code:
Starting the  New Name:******************
pasam
/start/login.jsp
/start/header.js
nithin
/start/logout.jsp
/start/header.js
 anil
eric
/scripts/log/login.xsl

Thanks a lot Ludwig.

Last edited by zxmaus; 12-19-2011 at 11:17 AM.. Reason: added tags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl: Search for string on line then search and replace text

Hi All, I have a file that I need to be able to find a pattern match on a line, search that line for a text pattern, and replace that text. An example of 4 lines in my file is: 1. MatchText_randomNumberOfText moreData ReplaceMe moreData 2. MatchText_randomNumberOfText moreData moreData... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Crypto
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

how can search a String in one text file and replace the whole line in another file

i am very new to UNIX plz help me in this scenario i have two text files as below file1.txt name=Rajakumar. Discipline=Electronics and communication. Designation=software Engineer. file2.txt name=Kannan. Discipline=Mechanical. Designation=CADD Design Engineer. ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: kkraja
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

reverse search a text file from a specified line