Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Mounting a standard user, windows share at login Post 302578488 by metallica1973 on Thursday 1st of December 2011 04:16:09 PM
Old 12-01-2011
Though this still requires root access ,this shows promise, AutoFS:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Autofs

http://wiki.centos.org/TipsAndTricks... - CentOS Wiki

AutoFS appears to be more a more efficient way of conserving bandwidth as well but I have never used it before

---------- Post updated at 04:16 PM ---------- Previous update was at 04:04 PM ----------

Thanks for the replies,

Was wondering about using the noauto option. If this is used will it still mount the drive after the boot automatically, or would i still have to mount the share after login manually?

Last edited by metallica1973; 12-01-2011 at 05:10 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Windows & DOS: Issues & Discussions

Mounting a windows share on AIX

Hi, How can I mount a Windows share (over samba) on an AIX machine? I know there is a utility called smbmount on Linux, but alas, I cannot find out how to the same thing on AIX. anyone have any ideas? thanks! (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: szahir1
3 Replies

2. Solaris

Mounting CIFS share

Is it possible to mount a samba share on a solaris system? I know this is possible with Linux using a fstype of smbfs. I am trying to aviod having to share the same directories via cifs and nfs on a solaris box to windows and solaris clients. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: mhm4
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Help mounting Windows share in UNIX

We recently upgraded one of our engineering servers, and now the lone UNIX box that houses older CAD files can not connect to it. I have tried every variation of mount I can find, but to no avail. Help is appreciated. Here are the specs: Server: Windows 2003 x64 with Unix Services for Windows... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: shatterstorm
8 Replies

4. IP Networking