Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Extracting data from SQL using a variable from a file Post 302568604 by singas1 on Thursday 27th of October 2011 06:32:16 PM
Old 10-27-2011
Extracting data from SQL using a variable from a file

Though, its not new, I am a newbie to shell scripting. Please help me with the below.

There are two steps.

First one is to read a table and create a file with the distinct values. I am able to get this done.

Second step is to read the file (which has the single value, like a number) and pass it as a variable to the sql with which I have to get that particular set of data to send an email.

I tried to create the script but could not create it without errors.

Can you please help me with a small sample of it so that I can use it to create it as per my requirement.

Thanks a lot for your time and information.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

extracting recursive data file

Hi Gurus, Can awk be able to do this source file: 1|SPFE2027G1|1PFE-7000|T34801188|5066-0844| 2|T34801188|5066-0844|T35002355|5066-0845| 3|T35002355|5066-0845|T35203409|QFBR-7798| 1|SPFE2027H1|1PFE-7000|T34801198|5066-0844| 2|T34801198|5066-0844|T35002365|5066-0845| formatted into:... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: bbeugie
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to assign sql output data to shell script variable

Hi Guys ! I am new to unix and want to find out how we can make sql statement data to shell script variable? Any help/suggestion is greatly appreciated -Chandra (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: kattics
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Extracting data from an AFP file

Hello Anybody any idea how to extract data from an AFP file using UNIX commands? I could make the AFP to PDF or if there is any other to change it to to make the extraction simplar. I'm open to ideas. Cheers (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Dolph
4 Replies