Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers How to log transform a text file? Post 302564781 by Corona688 on Friday 14th of October 2011 03:13:58 PM
Old 10-14-2011
You've asked this question about a million times before and instead of clarifying what you want, you just keep making more threads asking the same thing.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Use awk to log transform

Hello. I'm trying to use the awk command to convert certains fields to lgo base 2, not base 10. I'm trying command lines like: awk '$2 $5 $7 {print log(2)($2), log(2)($5), $7) filein.txt > fileout.txt I'm trying to make a deadline. Thanks for helping a newbie. Here's some fresh karma... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jmzcal
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to transform a string to a variable?

Hi all, I'm fairly new to shell scripting. My problem: I'm getting a string, "$XXOGL_TOP", from a database table. I then want to get the value of this variable in the shell script (which is a search path). But it doesn't dissolve but remains a string "$XXOGL_TOP". Any ideas on how to get the... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Kerstin
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Log file text parsing

I'm new to scripting and was wondering if there was a way to accomplish what I want below using shell script(s). If there is a log file as follows, where the id is the unique id of a process, with the timestamp of when the process began and completed displayed, would it be possible to find the... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: dizydolly
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Using awk to log transform a column in a tab-delimited text file?

How do I use awk to log transform the fifth column of a tab-delimited text file? Thanks! (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: evelibertine
1 Replies

5. Programming

STL transform question