Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting monitoring various things (mainly activity) on different unix boxes Post 302560601 by albator1932 on Friday 30th of September 2011 09:52:10 AM
Old 09-30-2011
monitoring various things (mainly activity) on different unix boxes

Hi there,

I want to ask you guys what you think about my problem.
I work as a sysadmin on about 7000 workstations or so and to save money and energy, we've decided to switch off as many workstations as possible during the night (probably by shutting it down by cron and power it on by WakeOnLAN).
We're also planning to develop a custom portal to let users choose if the workstation they're using cannot be shut down.

All of this is currently under discussion, and for now I need to report the nightly activity on a selection of workstations (RHEL4, RHEL5 and HP-UX 11.11), here is what I need :

- monitor if there's local user logged on the workstation
- monitor if there's remote user logged on the workstation
- activity of those users if applicable
- process running

Of course I first thought about the "ps -ef" and the "who" commands but there's about 50 workstations to monitor (during 2 weeks or so) and I'm not really a shell script guru and of course data collected must be compiled easily for me to report...

What do you think is the best option ?

Thanks

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

text boxes, radio buttons , check boxes in c++ on unix

Hi ! Please tell me how to get radio buttons, text boxes , check boxes , option buttons , pull down menus in C++ on Unix. I think it would be done using curses.h ..but that's all i know. TIA, Devyani. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: devy8
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

users logging on to unix boxes