Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers newline character in a variable Post 302558811 by Scott on Sunday 25th of September 2011 01:35:32 PM
Old 09-25-2011
Try using quotes. That will preserve the whitespace / newline characters:

Code:
echo "$variable"

printf is better for this kind of thing.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How can I replace newline character?

Hi, I am trying to write a script to prepare some text for use as web content. What is happening is that all the newlines in the textfile are ignored, so I want to be able to replace/add a few characters so that for a file containg: This is line 1. This is line two. This is line four.... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ghoti
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sed append newline character

Hi All, I am new to Shell scripting.. I have a task to parse the text file into csv format. more then half the things has done. But the problem is when I use the sed command in shell script. it appends newline character at the end of the line. and so when I open the file in CSV it's format... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Gaurang033
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

newline character

hi, I want to print the below lines "Message from bac logistics The Confirmation File has not been received." When i give like this in the code "Message from bac logistics\n The Confirmation File has not been received." It is giving only Message from bac logistics\n The... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: trichyselva
9 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

echo without newline character

hi, I have a for loop where in I write some file name to another file. I want to write all the filenames to another without any newlines. how can i avoid getting new lines with echo? Thanks, Srilaxmi (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: srilaxmi
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting