Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Need help in extracting data from xml file Post 302539079 by abhishek2386 on Friday 15th of July 2011 06:41:56 AM
Old 07-15-2011
Question Need help in extracting data from xml file

Hello,

This is my first post in here, so excuse me if I sound too noob here!

I need to extract the path "/apps/mp/installedApps/V61/HRO/hrms_01698_A_qa.ear" from the below xml extract. The path will always appear with the key "binariesURL"

Code:
<deployedObject xmi:type="appdeployment:ApplicationDeployment" xmi:id="ApplicationDeployment_1273611400395" deploymentId="0" startingWeight="1" binariesURL="/apps/mp/installedApps/V61/HRO/hrms_01698_A_qa.ear" useMetadataFromBinaries="true" enableDistribution="true" createMBeansForResources="true" reloadInterval="60" reloadEnabled="true" appContextIDForSecurity="href:CellV61_HRO/hrms_01698_A_qa" filePermission=".*\.dll=755#.*\.so=755#.*\.a=755#.*\.sl=755" allowDispatchRemoteInclude="false" allowServiceRemoteInclude="false">

The whole of the above XML text appears in a single line. And I am trying to do this through a bash shell script.

Any help will be highly appreciated.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

extracting XML file using sed

Hello folks I want to extract data between certain tag in XML file using 'sed' <xml> ......... .......... <one>XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX</one> ...... Anyone ?Thank you (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: pujansrt
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extracting Data from xml file

Hi ppl out there... Can anyone help me with the shell script to extract data from an xml file. My xml file looks like : - <servlet> <servlet-name>FrontServlet</servlet-name> <display-name>FrontServlet</display-name> ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: nishana
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extracting a part of XML File