Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers startX windows application during boot.....putty connection takes the windows Post 302538453 by venkat_330 on Wednesday 13th of July 2011 03:51:53 AM
Old 07-13-2011
startX during boot.....want to disable putty connection takes the windows

Dear all

i am new to linux/debian

i run my application on the computer...during startup in bashrc i wrk wid dis script to invoke startx..i do this above command and it works perfectly...
Code:
if [ -z "$DISPLAY" ] && [ $(tty) = /dev/tty1 ]; then
  startx -- -br 1>/dev/null
  exit 0
fi

i use winscp for file transfer and putty for remote terminal connections...so when i reboot my host computer during reboot process if i happen to connect putty remotely my startx is redirected to my remote computer putty screen,,,,which i does not want...

i want my startx to run only in my host computer...

please help

Reagrds
Venkat.s

Last edited by Franklin52; 07-13-2011 at 08:08 AM.. Reason: Please use code tags for code and data samples, thank you

5 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Red Hat

How to take printout of linux file from windows xp using putty?

Friends, I have installed Putty in my windows xp pc. I am connecting the RHEL AS 3 server using putty from my windows xp. My printer is connected to my windows xp. Now, i want to print text.txt of RHEL AS 3.0 in my windows xp printer through putty. For Example: my pc ip is 117.23.2.55... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sathyguy
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Putty Input thru Windows

Hi anyone knows how to pass values to putty command prompt from MS windows. since i am have a shell script to get input of several lines. i dont want to type it rather than input values from some windows based application is there any way thanks in advance. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: JACKDSOUZA
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Renaming putty windows with a shell script