Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting sh script for file received confirmation Post 302528653 by mamemlin on Tuesday 7th of June 2011 03:41:57 PM
Old 06-07-2011
sh script for file received confirmation

I am new at scripting, (and this fourm- so hi guys!) and I was wondering is there something out there that I can use to do the following:

I receive a file on an FTP server
I would like a script to look at a specifc directory for a certain file
and when it arrives it will send an email confirmation.

the only caveat i see is that the same file sits there in the directory
until a new one overwrites it each day. so there will always be a file there.

I already have sendmail running so that is no issue

anything out there that I can modify?

please help!

Smilie

Thanks..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Checking the time of last file received?

Hi, Is there a way of looking at the last file received and checking whether it is more than 24 hours old? E.g. /Archive/Files/h/h0012345.dat I need to look in a directory, get the date of the processed file and make sure it wasn't more than a day ago. If it is more than 1 day ago I need... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: rebootman
9 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How do I write a ksh script that will check if all ftp files are received?

I am trying to code a ksh script that will check to see if all 26 incoming ftp files have been received before proceeding to the next function, which is to rename each file. Here is the pseudo-code of what I am trying to do: <<STEP_1>> IF all ALS files have been transmitted then... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: doug145
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Pass all received args to a (wrapped) child script