Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Recursively move directories along with files/specific files Post 302520214 by bartus11 on Friday 6th of May 2011 06:16:47 AM
Old 05-06-2011
Try:
Code:
cd /tmp;find . -name "*.log" | xargs -i bash -c "echo {} | cpio -pdmu /tmp/arc; rm -f {}"

Last edited by bartus11; 05-06-2011 at 07:22 AM..
This User Gave Thanks to bartus11 For This Post:

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Recursively copy only specific files from a directory tree

Hi I am a shell-script newbie and am looking to synchronize certain files in two directory structures. Both these directory-trees are in CVS and so I dont want the CVS directory to be copied over. I want only .sh and .pl files in each subdirectory under these directory trees to be... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sharpsharkrocks
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

grep'ing for specific directories, and using the output to move files

Hello, this is probably another really simple tasks for most of you gurus, however I am trying to make a script which takes an input, greps a specific file for that input, prints back to screen the results (which are directory names) and then be able to use the directory names to move files.... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: JayC89
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Loop to move files in different directories

Hi, I have various log files in different paths. e.g. a/b/c/d/e/server.log a/b/c/d/f/server.log a/b/c/d/g/server.log a/b/c/h/e/server.log a/b/c/h/f/server.log a/b/c/h/g/server.log a/b/c/i/e/server.log a/b/c/i/e/server.log a/b/c/i/e/server.log and above these have an archive folder... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: acc01
6 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

List directories and sub directories recursively excluding files