Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting concatenating similar files in a directory Post 302518023 by Deepak62828r on Thursday 28th of April 2011 12:54:56 PM
Old 04-28-2011
concatenating similar files in a directory

Hi,
I am new in unix.
I have below requirement:
I have two files at the same directory location
File1.txt and File2.txt (just an example, real scenario we might have File2 and File3 OR File6 and File7....)

File1.txt has :
Code:
header1
record1
trailer1

File2.txt has:
Code:
header2
record2
trailer2

I want to keep File2.txt as below and delete the File1.txt.

File2.txt will have:
Code:
header2
record1
record2
trailer2

Can anyone please provide some help here.

Last edited by zaxxon; 04-28-2011 at 02:00 PM.. Reason: code tags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

concatenating x files into a one...

... i have 4 files to concatenate but in a certain order and i wanted to do it in a shorter one line command , if possible ! 4 files : file , file0 , file1 and file2 file1 into file2 file0 into the result file into the result thanks in advance Christian (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Nicol
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Concatenating records from 2 files

I'm trying to concatenate records from 2 files and output it to a third file. The problem I'm running into is that it seems like the "While" command is limited to processing one file at a time. It seems like you could read a record from file1 into a variable. Then do the same for the for file2.... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Powcmptr
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Concatenating two files

HI I need to concatenate two files which are having headers. the result file should contain only the header from first file only and the header in second file have to be skipped. file1: name age sriram 23 file2 name age prabu 25 result file should be name age sriram 23 prabu ... (6 Replies)