Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to avoid the truncating of multiple spaces into a single space while reading a line from a file? Post 302510761 by Chubler_XL on Tuesday 5th of April 2011 12:03:54 AM
Old 04-05-2011
This will still truncate any leading and trailing spaces.

If you need to keep them you can just use read and REPLY:

Code:
while read
do
    echo "$REPLY"
done < example

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Reading Multiple Variables From a Single Line in Shell

I'm a Linux newb, I've been running a Debian Linux server for about a year now, and I've written some simple scripts to automate various things, but I still don't know much, and I forget what I learn as fast as I figure it out... Anyway, that really isn't important, I just want you to know that... (14 Replies)
Discussion started by: Drek
14 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

echo is suppressing multiple spaces.How to avoid it

I am reading a file and copying selected lines from the file into another using echo. For eg: while read line do if ((some logic to determine whether I need to copy the current line to another file)) then echo $line > tempfile fi done<srcfile The problem I have is the data in the file... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: prathima
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

replace space or spaces in a line of a file with a single :

I am searching while I await a response to this so if it has been asked already I apologize. I have a file with lines in it that look like: bob johnson email@email.org I need it to look like: bob:johnson:email@email.org I am trying to use sed like this: sed -e 's/ /:/g' file >... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: NewSolarisAdmin
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Reading a single character from each line of the file