Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Renaming files in one file from names in other Post 302503938 by pawannoel on Saturday 12th of March 2011 04:22:27 PM
Old 03-12-2011
Help with controlling string elements

Hi All

Has anyone had a few moments to look at my previous query,

I'll really appreciate feedback of any sort to help me start experimenting myself,

I have a general difficulty in understanding how to control single elements within a string. An example,

Code:
XYZ1234      ABCD5678

My expected output is :

Code:
ABCD1234     XYZ5678  (swapping subset of string elements of choice)
XYZ37            ACBD1214 (making calculations using string elements)

,etc

Could someone illuminate on such problems please

Thanks in advance Smilie

PS: I'm a beginner to UNIX

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Renaming file names in a shell script

I want to write a shell script that will rename all the file names to today's date attached to it.. so for example i have a file names like file1.sales.20081201.txt.c zbrs.salestxtn.20091101.txt.inn then it will rename both the files with todays date to it so the file names get changed... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rudoraj
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Some questions - renaming duplicate names

I have a file that looks like this 2 4 10 500 tim9 5 8 14 700 tim9 3 5 15 432 john1 1 4 12 999 ellen2 So basically what i want to do is fine duplicate names on column 5 and rename it with an extention (i.e. tim9_1 and tim9_2). so the output file will look like this 2 4 10 500 tim9_1... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: kylle345
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

File renaming from list of names contained in another file