Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris Installing Solaris 8 bootblock without Solaris Install CD Post 302487034 by johnny994 on Tuesday 11th of January 2011 08:10:16 AM
Old 01-11-2011
Installing Solaris 8 bootblock without Solaris Install CD

Hello everyone,

Background:
I'm having an issue with booting a clone of hard drive with Solaris 8 installation.
For cloning process I have used g4l, running under click'n'clone option. As far as I know the actual operation ran behind g4l's interface was dd, though I do not have any information about the exact command that was ran (I presume it was common: dd /dev/sda /dev/sdb).
I have ran the Sun Blade 150 Workstation with Ultra-SPARC IIe 500MHz with the cloned drives (there were two drives on the original machine, and I have replaced them both with clones). Unfortunately it did not boot. There's a boot log, which passes quite fast until the machine restarts. Since I'm fairly new to the Unix OS overall, I have no idea how to stop the boot messages and read them, so any tips would be welcome.

The Problem:
As far as I have read so far, I've came to notice that I might need to restore bootblock using installboot command, from an Solaris 8 Install CD. The problem is that I do not own a copy of such disk. Therefore, I was wondering if you could provide me with a download location of some sort of a recovery disk for SunOS 5.8 or even the original installation disk.

If there's a cloning solution that does not require usage of the installation disk that would be highly appreciated too.

Thanks in advance.
Johnny

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Installing Solaris 8

I'm new to Unix, and Installed Solaris 8 (IA) for the first time with the end user software group, I got the login screen at startup. When I re-installed it with the Full Distribution plus OEM support it bypasses the login screen and logs me as superuser (root). Is this normal? Thanks in... (3 Replies)