Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris hard disk broken, relocate user's home dir. All setting missing Post 302486674 by dr_dw on Monday 10th of January 2011 01:17:51 AM
Old 01-10-2011
Data hard disk broken, relocate user's home dir. All setting missing

Hi, guys

I am a super newbie in solaris admin....
Now I got a problem.
Due to the broken of one of Raid system, some user home directory is missing.
Someone advises me to relocate the home directory on the new drive.

I have googled and have tried " usermode -d " command.
But I found a problem. No config files for these users.

So I want to ask if there is any better methods? Or how can I recover the environment of these users.
I hope the environment of these users as least as good as a new created user.

Thank you.
Ray

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Hard Disk drive space gone missing...

Sorry if this is totally the wrong place to post this but I have a question or something rather thats bugging me. I got a new Dell Inspiron laptop the other day and I was expecting it to have 80G on it, well atleast 70 or so after installation of OS and such but after looking carefully yesterday, I... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: Ecclesiastes
8 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Modify user home dir

I created a new user and assigned a certain home dir to tis user. I've noticed that this home dir (/export/home/test) is already assigned to other users. I really want to create a dedicated home dir for the new user. Can anyone tell me how I can modify this user with a new homedir? Thx for... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: kris_devis
4 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

listing home dir of anothe user