Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Unable to write to a file within a loop Post 302471790 by jsmithstl on Monday 15th of November 2010 06:54:25 AM
Old 11-15-2010
Put a "set -x" before fname=$1 and when you execute the script,
it will show you the result of each command.

Code:
#!/usr/bin/sh

set -x

fname=$1
echo $fname

Code:
./blah.sh myfile.dat
+ fname=myfile.dat
+ echo myfile.dat
myfile.dat

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Loop through file and write out lines to file(s)

Hi, I am new to ksh scripting so your help will be much appreciated. I have a file called file.txt which looks like this Header 20050702 20050703 ABC DEF Header 20050703 20050704 123 456 Header 20050704 20050705 XXX YYY What I am trying to do is write out each of the record... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: Jtrinh
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

trying to write a script to loop through a port info file

Below is part of a script i have written to loop through part of a port info file. How do i continue the script to get info for OS Device Name, manufacturer and then put information into an array? HBA Port WWN: 10000000c9420b4b OS Device Name: /dev/cfg/c10 Manufacturer: Emulex... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: rcon1
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

help needed .. Unable to write the data to new file after matching the pattern

Hi, i am pretty new to Unix environment ..... Can i get some help from any of you guyz on writing Unix script. my requirement is like reading a csv file, finding a specific pattern in the lines and repalce the string with new string and write it to another file. My file is file ABC123.dat... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: prashant_jsw
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Push records to array during implicit loop and write to file