Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers How to set server's ip address, router, network mask and set if it is an internal or external ip? Post 302471684 by zagaruika on Sunday 14th of November 2010 05:28:09 PM
Old 11-14-2010
How to set server's ip address, router, network mask and set if it is an internal or external ip?

Hello, I need to write a program which sets server's ip address, router, network mask. Program also should set if it is an internal or external ip. Maybe someone can help me ? Any information from u is very useful Smilie
I stopped at .. Smilie

#!/bin/sh
A=`hostname -i`
echo "server ip address is $A"

any ideas how to write further?

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. IP Networking

set ip address

I'm new to Solaris. How do I set a server's IP address? Thanks in advance. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: confused
3 Replies

2. IP Networking

set the source IP address to zero

Hi, does anybody know how to set the IP source address of an IP packet to be zero? The problem is that when you create a raw socket and set the IP_HDRINCL socket option, if you put the ip_src address to zero (INADDR_ANY) the kernel will automatically set the source address to the primary IP address... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: developer
2 Replies

3. Solaris

network config problem - how to set the server for others to ssh without password

Hi, I want to ssh the linux server without inputting the password, how can I config this server? Thanks in advance! (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: GCTEII
1 Replies

4. Forum Support Area for Unregistered Users & Account Problems

Email Address set up too late

I set up the email address for my account too late for it to be activated prior to the transmission of the activate message from unix.com. Can you resend that message? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Retson Retap
2 Replies

5. HP-UX

Connecting To An External Network Using A logical (PACKAGE) IP Address