Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Read the contents of a file and store them in a variable Post 302470287 by svajhala on Tuesday 9th of November 2010 04:26:54 PM
Old 11-09-2010
Thanks Anurag and Franklin for your quick response. I tried Franklin's approach, its working.

Last edited by svajhala; 11-09-2010 at 05:38 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

how to read each letter from file and store it in variable.

Dear friends, i am writing csh script i have one dat file containing following data.like this. 08FD3 03A26 000FA0 FFFF0 BBA0F 00000 00000 from the above file i want to read each letter and store it in one variable. how it is possible. please help (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: rajan_ka1
7 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Read and store each line of a file to a variable

Hi all, I'm quite new to unix and hope that someone can help me on this. I'm using csh. Below is what i intend to do. 1. I stored some data in a file. 2. I intend to read the file line by line and store each line of data into a variable, so that i can used it later. Anyone have any... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: seijihiko
4 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Read a file and store each value in a variable

Hi, How to read a file and put the values in a script. E.g. file1.txt 02/12/2009;t1;t2 The script should read this file and put these values in 3 different variables x1,x2,x3 which can be used further. Thanks Ashu (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: er_ashu
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

read xml tag attribute and store it in variable

Hi, How to read xml tag attributes and store into variable in shell script? Thanks, Swetha (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: swetha123
5 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

read contents of a file with serveral lines & assign it to a variable