Sponsored Content
Operating Systems HP-UX How to remove new line character and append new line character in a file? Post 302466750 by sasikari on Wednesday 27th of October 2010 08:28:30 AM
Old 10-27-2010
Thanks a lot , it is perfectly working fine.

And mainly i have 128 columns in my source file , could you please let me know where exactly need changes to this code OR how to handle this scenario when i have 128 columns in the file.

Could you also explain me about this code (Sorry i couldn't understand this code , but it is perfectly working to my scenario).

Please provide me the solution for this.

Thanks a ton for the help

Regards,
Kari

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using SED to append character to each line

Hey - my first post here, and I'm a total SED newb. I've looked around for previous help on this, but have so far been unsuccessful. I have a program (AMStracker for OS X) that outputs data in the terminal. Output is in this form: . . . 3 0 -75 3 0 -76 3 0 -77 ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: c0nn0r
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

append a character at end of each line of a file

Hi, i want to append a character '|' at end of each line of a file abc.txt. for example if the file abc.txt conatins: a|b|c 1|2|33 w|2|11 i want result file xyz.txt a|b|c| 1|2|33| w|2|11| I know this is simple but sumhow i am not able to reach end of line. its urgent, thanks for... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: muaz
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to append a character to the last but one field on a specific line?

Hi Guys, I have a file like this: aaa b c d e f fsss g h i k l qqq r t h n I want: aaa b c d e f fsss g h i k l qqq r t h , n ggg p t e d u qqq i o s , k (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: npatwardhan
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to remove line break character in a file