Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting csv file - adding total to a trailer record Post 302464020 by cabrao on Tuesday 19th of October 2010 05:40:02 AM
Old 10-19-2010
For the trailer record:
Code:
$ awk '{s+=$3}END{print "trailer record, "s}' infile
trailer record, 250

This User Gave Thanks to cabrao For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

splitting a record and adding a record to a file

Hi, I am new to UNIX scripting and woiuld appreicate your help... Input file contains only one (but long) record: aaaaabbbbbcccccddddd..... Desired file: NEW RECORD #new record (hardcoded) added as first record - its length is irrelevant# aaaaa bbbbb ccccc ddddd ... ... ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rsolap
1 Replies

2. Solaris

How to test the existence of trailer record

SunOS 5.10 Generic_142900-15 sun4v sparc SUNW,T5240 I have a script that needs to test a file for the existence of a trailer record. Is there a command and is a header and trailer differect record type? Thanks in advance (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Harleyrci
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Adding Header and Trailer records to a appended file

How can we a shell script and pass date parameters .I have 3 files comming from Datastage with |" delimited I need append 3 files as above: File1: P0000|"47416954|"AU|"000|"INS|"0000|"|"20060601|"99991231|"|"|"|"|"01 File 2:... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: e1994264
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Adding header and trailer into a file

Hi, I want to add the below Header to all the files in sequence File1,File2,File3...etc "ABC,<number of chracter in the file>" e,g - If File1 is as below pqrstuvdt abcdefgh then I want to add the above header into it ,So that File1 becomes as below ABC,17 pqrstuvdt abcdefgh ... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: spari2
9 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting