Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Kill Process not owned by other user Post 302449779 by methyl on Tuesday 31st of August 2010 01:46:54 PM
Old 08-31-2010
Sorry, I try not to put such programs in the public domain.

In your circumstance I usually create an account soley to run the background process and use that account to start/stop the process from cron. Then also have an locked down interactive login to that account solely for manual status/stop/start/kill . The password to the interactive login would only be known to those who need to know and they do not need access to any other users account.
This also avoids the issues if a process owner changes role.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to delete everything owned bya particular user?

Hi I am an Oracle DBA and I want to delete everything owned byOracle on the AIX server. What command would do that? (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: sarangishere
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to kill a process initiated by other user at the same group

Hey I'm writing a script that creates some processes,and some scripts which kill those processes. the question is Simply: How can I allow a group members to be able to kill (using kill command) processes created by other user at the same group? and i need the change to be at the script... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: The Dark Knight
5 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

crontab or looping script to Kill process from user

I am looking for a way to kill 2 processes from a user through some kind of script. Using an oracle script, I get two process ids that need to be killed. SQL> select ssn.process as client_process_id, pcs.spid as oracle_process_id, ssn.sid, ssn.serial# 2 from v$session ssn inner join... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Meert
5 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

how to kill all the netscape process of a particular user?