Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: grouping lines
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users grouping lines Post 302448977 by cjcox on Friday 27th of August 2010 05:16:15 PM
Old 08-27-2010
You could use awk with semi-colon as the field separator. Can't actually write this for you without full info about the data.... I could take guesses... you could post your assignment sheet (betting that this is for school).

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Regarding the user grouping

I am new to the unix server. My question is: i have 10 users a b c d e f g h i j Among the 10 5 users are (normal) user and remainging 5 users are (qad) users How can i sepearte this one? How can i give the dlc access rights? Please provide the clear cut idea. (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: kingganesh04
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Grouping each 2 lines

Whats a good way to group (by adding a new integer to the front of each line) pairs of lines, such that lines 1 & 2 are group 1, lines 3 & 4 are group 2, etc... ex input: A B C D etc... ex output: 1A 1B 2C 2D etc... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: watingo
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Grouping or appending the lines in a file through Unix

Hi, I am looking for a way to Group the Lines in a file.. Basically My file structure is something like this A 1 100 abc def A 1 200 abc def A 1 300 abc def A 2 100 pqr def A 2 200 pqr def A 2 300 pqr def A 1 100 abc def A 1 200 xyz def A 1 300 xyz def I need it as... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mkandula1983
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Grouping or appending the lines in a file through Unix

Hi, I am looking for a way to Group the Lines in a file.. Basically My file structure is something like this A 1 100 abc def A 1 200 abc def A 1 300 abc def A 2 100 pqr def A 2 200 pqr def A 2 300 pqr def A 1 100 abc def A 1 200 xyz def A 1 300 xyz def I need it as... (6 Replies)