Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers move files between file systems with privileges, time stamp Post 302439028 by pludi on Wednesday 21st of July 2010 12:49:17 PM
Old 07-21-2010
Either cp with the '-p' ("preserve") option, or mv. Both should preserve the modification and access time and permission bits. For ACLs that should be preserved see the man page of your OS.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Need to delete the files based on the time stamp of the file

Hi Everyone, I want to delete some files in a path based on the time stamp of the file that is i want to delete the file once in a month. Can any one help me on this? Thanks in advance (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: samudha
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Copy all the files with time stamp and remove header,trailer from file

All, I am new to unix and i have the following requirement. I have file(s) landing into input directory with timestamp, first i want to copy all these files into seperate directory then i want to rename these files without timestamp and also remove header,trailer from that file.. Could... (35 Replies)
Discussion started by: ksrams
35 Replies

3. Solaris

doubt reg time stamp in files.

I copied a file from one host to another using sftp. But after copying the time stamp is not updating . Even though I checked the permission, it looks good. I copied the same file to some temporary location, there it updating the time stamp. Anyone have any idea on this (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: rogerben
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Move files one at the time and wait until the previous file is handled