Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Calculating number of records by field Post 302435623 by rdcwayx on Wednesday 7th of July 2010 09:01:02 PM
Old 07-07-2010
Give your expect output. Otherwise difficult to understand your request.

For example, how can you get the record count of 20 for SOLO_UNBEATABLE E and SOLO_UNBEATABLE F

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Calculating field using AWK, or GAWK script

Hello all, I'm totally new to UNIX/Linux but I'm taking a course in it at my local JC. My question: I have been tasked with writing a gawk script that will create a nicely formatted report. That part I've done ok on...however, the very last thing that must be done is a calculation of a... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Trellot
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

calculating a number

Hello all :) I need some help; I'm running the sp_spaceused command on various tables and saving the output to a file. So, I have an input file that has 3 rows - each row has 7 columns. I would like to 1) sort the file on the 4th column, 2) take the 4th column in the first row and add 25% to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: stonemonolith
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Calculating the Number of Rows and Average

Hi All I like to know how can we calculate the number of rows and the average of the values present in the file. I will not know what will be the rowcount, which will be dynamic in nature of the file. eg. 29 33 48 30 28 (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: pk_eee
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sorting on two fields time field and number field

Hi, I have a file that has data in it that says 00:01:48.233 1212 00:01:56.233 345 00:09:01.221 5678 00:12:23.321 93444 The file has more line than this but i just wanted to put in a snippet to ask how I would get the highest number with time stamp into another file. So from the above... (2 Replies)