Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Redirect Output and Error in 2 different files Post 302419006 by dr.house on Thursday 6th of May 2010 03:16:15 AM
Old 05-06-2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bankimmehta
Code:
>> $root_dir/$filename

Code:
1>> $root_dir/$log_out 2>> $root_dir/$log_err

(Reference)

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Redirect output to multiple files.

Hi, I am new to shell scripting and have a question. I would like to redirect the output of a command to multiple files, each file holding the exact same copy. From what I read from the bash manpage and from some searching it seems it cannot be done within the shell except setting up a loop. Is... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: cbkihong
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Ping: redirect output and error

Hi, I use this function (now modified with elif) for check if a pc is up: check_pc() { $PING $PC 1 2> /dev/null if ; then check_dir #Other function echo "Begin backup operation for $PC" echo "$SMBTAR -s $PC -u $USER -p $PASS -x $SHARE$EXCL -t - | gzip -c >... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: mbarberis
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How redirect output(error and normal) to 2 different files

Hello, I have a java program which i am calling in shell script. I wanted to redirect output to 2 differetn files. Output should have both 1 & 2 (normal and error) in both file. pls help (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: balareddy
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Dynamically redirect output to duplicate files ???

Hi There are many posts in this forum regarding reditecting output, but mine is a different problem, please have a look. My shell script is redirecting output to a log file dynamically. That is it is using - exec > log1.txt 2>&1 Hence all the traces are appearing in the log1.txt. I want... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: nsinha
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting