Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Shell scripting string manipulation Post 302398787 by frans on Thursday 25th of February 2010 02:24:10 PM
Old 02-25-2010
Code:
echo "s,t,r,i,n,g" | tr ',' '\n'

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

String comparision in shell scripting

Hi Guys, I am new to scripting I have written a code to compare strings,but I am getting some Exception Code snippet: MODE="D" if ]; then . $file1 fi Error: ./BatchJobs.sh: [[: execute permission denied I have given all Execute permissions to the script(chmod 755... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Anji
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed string manipulation in shell script

Hello, I have 1000 of sql queries and i need to push column value in query. e.g. SET INSERT_ID=1 INSERT INTO test (id,name) VALUES ('a'); SET INSERT_ID=2 INSERT INTO test (id,name) VALUES ('b'); SET INSERT_ID=3 INSERT INTO test (id,name) VALUES ('c'); SET INSERT_ID=4 INSERT INTO test... (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: mirfan
12 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell scripting -append a new string

hi all , i am looking for a shell script which looks into a directory of text files and searches for a string(abc123) in all the text files and if that exists add a new line(abc124) in all the *.txt files automatically, or if (abc124) exists add (abc123) can you all please help me. (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: joseph.dmello
6 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

string manipulation in bash shell

Hi All, I am using a bash shell and want to the following thing. A process sends the following string to my script BACKUP_FAIL_REASON="Failed - Application Dump CDMACA-0:grep: /opt/nortel/ca/data/1245184/sd00/image1/S110907070708HIS... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Pkumar Sachin
4 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to convert string into integer in shell scripting?