Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Check process running Status with PID Post 302372427 by dennis.jacob on Wednesday 18th of November 2009 02:21:34 AM
Old 11-18-2009
Try:

Code:
ps -ef | grep -q process_name
echo $?   # will be 0 if found, or else non-zero value

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script to check status of a PID

i'm just learning scripting, and have been banging my head against this I want to check if my WAS6 java process is running and if so..echo me a messages. If not then echo me a different messages the problem i have is I dont know how to represent a NULL return value. If i grep for a was6... (14 Replies)
Discussion started by: zeekblack
14 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to check the status of the processes running for the current user?

Hi All, I am new to unix. Can anyone tell me "How to check the status of the processes running for the current user?" Regards, Ravindaran S (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ravind27
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to know the status of process running in background

I have run one shell script in background that contains a endless while loop. I am not able to know the status of that job . Please provide any command to know this. I have already used "ps -aef" , "jobs" to know it , but it didn't work. I am sure the process is running as it is generating a file... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: sumanta
8 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to find the details of the previously running process with PID

OS: Unix or Linux I (only) know the pid of the process which was running earlier (say 5 hrs back) but it is not running now. Is there a way I could find the details of that process? (atleast the name of the process). Please let me know. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: vijay.d
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to Check the process Status and do something