Sponsored Content
Top Forums Programming Compilers to be used on Linux box to build C & C++ Post 302368579 by milindb on Thursday 5th of November 2009 05:34:24 AM
Old 11-05-2009
Question Compilers to be used on Linux box to build C & C++

Hallo,
Recently I have started working on a Linux box it has a default compilers.I tried to build a simple code using the default compilers.
compilers installed is at /usr/bin/cc
When I used same compilers to compile a C++ code error message is appearing.Then I tried to compile same code using gcc compiler placed at-/usr/bin/gcc.Also I tried with cpp compilers at - /usr/bin/cpp but error follows with some different messages.

Confusion I am having is can't I used same compilers to build both c & c++ code?
Why I am getting errors while using using cpp & gcc compilers?

Kindly help me to resolve this issue.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Build my box...

Well, I am new to Linux/Unix, and I have decided to get a new computer to experiment w/out fear of screwing up my work computer. I was debating between getting a refurbished Dell, and building my own. I am starting to lean towards building my own, then I saw how the AMD Athon XP out-performed the... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: KyPeN
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script to Reboot a linux box from a windows box

HI All, I need a script to reboot a linux box from a windows box. The script needs to run automatically whenever a sitescope alerts with an error message. Have searched for this in the forums, but could not get something relative. Pls. let me know the various alternatives we have to do... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Crazy_murli
2 Replies

3. Ubuntu

CentOS, Fedora & RedHat in 1 box