Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting perl how to exit a while loop and quit reading the input file Post 302368004 by thegeek on Wednesday 4th of November 2009 02:51:27 AM
Old 11-04-2009
Yep, how do you do this way ?

when in while (<FILE>) itself, you would get the line into $_, then why are you again reading into $_.

Remove that line. And if you have some other errors, come again with more clarity.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Reading specific contents from 1 input files and appending it to another input file

Hi guys, I am new to AWK and unix scripting. Please see below my problem and let me know if anyone you can help. I have 2 input files (example given below) Input file 2 is a standard file (it will not change) and we have to get the name (second column after comma) from it and append it... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: sksahu
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl - pass shell-vars into perl for input loop

I need to process a file line-by-line using some value from a shell variable Something like:perl -p -e 's/$shell_srch/$shell_replace/g' input.txt I can't make the '-s' work in the '-p' or '-n' input loop (or couldn't find a syntaxis.) I have searched and found... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: alex_5161
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed - write remaining input and quit?

I'm an infrequent user of sed. I searched this and other forums and read quite a bit of the O'Reilly book for an answer without luck. In my script I want sed to write the remainder of the input file and quit if it matches a pattern. e.g /Google/ Does anyone have an answer? thank. (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: lyledp
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl Script Not Reading Input Files Correctly