Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting perl how to exit a while loop and quit reading the input file Post 302367844 by subhap on Tuesday 3rd of November 2009 03:56:24 PM
Old 11-03-2009
perl how to exit a while loop and quit reading the input file

I am reading a file using While loop

Code:
while <FILE>
{
  $_ = <FILE>; 
  process data... 

}

I would like to quit reading the file once I encounter a String pattern. How do i do it.

is it
Code:
 if (/SUMMARY/)
 { 
  last; 
 }

I am having problems with uninitialized value in pattern matching and substitution and the while Loop does not end. Don't know how to get around that either..

thanks

Last edited by pludi; 11-03-2009 at 05:29 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Reading specific contents from 1 input files and appending it to another input file

Hi guys, I am new to AWK and unix scripting. Please see below my problem and let me know if anyone you can help. I have 2 input files (example given below) Input file 2 is a standard file (it will not change) and we have to get the name (second column after comma) from it and append it... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: sksahu
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl - pass shell-vars into perl for input loop

I need to process a file line-by-line using some value from a shell variable Something like:perl -p -e 's/$shell_srch/$shell_replace/g' input.txt I can't make the '-s' work in the '-p' or '-n' input loop (or couldn't find a syntaxis.) I have searched and found... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: alex_5161
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed - write remaining input and quit?